So who is Elizabeth Bathory? I hear you ask…

First things first, who is this woman Elizabeth or Erzsébet Báthory?

I used the Hungarian spelling in my book as I wanted to give it a more authentic air. Most of my research material spelled it that way but you will find both spellings apply depending on what you read.

Erzsébet Báthory was a 17th century countess and if you google her you’ll get a myriad of hits with information about her and most agree that she is one of the most prolific serial killers in history. As with most historical cases her story did get distorted over time and some have gone as far as to say that it could all have been a load of propaganda but I say where there’s smoke there’s fire and in my experience there is an element of truth when a story is so powerful.

Her victim count was in the hundreds and myth would have her bathe in the blood of her victims in order to maintain her youth but the truth is more likely that she was a sadist who relished in torturing young girls.

True or false, embellished or not, her story is too intriguing to be left alone and it almost begs to be analyzed whether you are Historian, a psychoanalyst or horror fan so I felt I had no choice but interpreted it in my own special way and soon I will post some previews to my book so you can get a taste of the universe I have created. I’m even toying with the idea of writing a couple of short stories exclusively for this blog.

Leave a Reply

